Skip to Main Content

Holiday wishes and a submission reminder from MIPAR

December 20, 2017 10:29 AM
On behalf of the entire MIPAR staff, we wish you all the best for a happy, restful, and healthy holiday season and start to the new year. And once you've caught up on rest, fun, and food, remember to resolve to submit an application for the MIPAR SFRF, due Feb 15, 2018. What better way to start the new year than with a jump start to your research productivity? See the announcement and link below for full details on this new and expanded opportunity to fund your research and writing this summer. 

Best wishes,
Anne, Deb, Lindita, Elle, and Kayla
Maryland Institute for Policy Analysis and Research (MIPAR)
'Your source for Social Sciences research support in CAHSS' 

Call for Proposals: MIPAR/CAHSS Summer Faculty Research Fellowship

The application for the 2018 MIPAR/CAHSS SFRF with new expanded eligibility criteria is now available. The application deadline is February 15, 2018.

2018 MIPAR Fellowship Application

We are now accepting applications for the MIPAR/CAHSS Summer Faculty Research Fellowship (SFRF). The purpose of this fellowship is to ultimately increase external funding activity by supporting significant Social Science research productivity of faculty in CAHSS, resulting in a submitable product by December 2018.  Fellows will receive $6,000 during the summer of 2018, which may be used for research expenses or taken as a stipend to support their research efforts. Each Fellow is expected to complete an external grant or fellowship proposal OR an article, policy paper, book or book chapter that will be submitted no later than the end of the fall semester following the fellowship.

Funds for this fellowship are provided by MIPAR, the UMBC College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (CAHSS) and the Vice President for Research.

In 2017, the Fellows were: Brian Grodsky (Political Science), Christine Mair (Sociology), Susan McDonough (History), and Christelle Viauroux (Economics). Prior Faculty Fellows include: Marina Adler (Sociology), Dena Aufseeser (Geography), Bambi Chapin (Sociology), Christy Chapin (History), Sarah Chard (Sociology), Dennis Coates (Economics), Jeffrey Davis (Political Science), Amy Froide (History), Tim Gindling (Economics), David Greenberg (Economics), Andrea Kalfoglou (Sociology), Douglas Lamdin (Economics), Marvin Mandell (Public Policy), Nancy Miller (Public Policy), Sara Poggio (Modern Languages and Linguistics), and Bob Rubinstein (Sociology).

0 Comments (requires login)